Distinguished Junior Member Competition

The Distinguished Junior Member award recognizes 17-21 year olds who have excelled in preparing for their life's work, while contributing to their local and state Holstein activities.

Established in 1922, this contest is the longest running Holstein youth program, and is the highest honor that can be given to a Junior Holstein member.

Holstein Association USA has updated the eligibility rules which will take affect for the 2017 competition. There is no limit to the number of applications each state can send. Contestants prepare entry books summarizing their Junior Holstein activities and provide their views on current industry topics.

Twelve semifinalists are chosen to attend the National Holstein Convention, where six Distinguished Junior Member finalists are selected. The top six DJMs receive an annual renewed adult membership with the Holstein Association USA, Inc.

DJM Application & Forms
2017 Application
DJM Form 1

pdf View Past Recipients

Congratulations to the
2017 Distinguished Junior Member Semifinalists

Katelyn Allen
Douglas Boop
Kristen Broege
Andy Dougherty
Katelyn Allen, MD Douglas Boop, PA Kristen Broege, WI Andy Dougherty, IA
Emily Irwin
Carley Krull
Laura Lesher
Tony Lopes
Emily Irwin, IL Carley Krull, WI Laura Lesher, PA Tony Lopes, CA
Austin Schmitt
Jill Seiler
Brooke Trustem
Hannah Van Dyk
Austin Schmitt, MN Jill Seiler, KS Brooke Trustem, WI Hannah Van Dyk, CA

Click here to watch videos from past finalists